Guru Kripa

22 Jun

Words fails me to express how I feel…

Today, June 21st, is David Life’s birthday, the first day of summer and the first International Day of Yoga

DLDavidji once said « If you believe in coincidence, then you aren’t paying attention ». And I could quote him again and again; and of course, that’s not the point. It is not about his words but his very presence, his realness and above everything his immense, loving and tender heart.

A few years ago in New-York, as I went to say my goodbyes, I met his eyes filled with tears. He said « already leaving? how I wished we could stay with all of you forever ». Then he cracked a joke. My heart skipped many beats.
And a week after, the doctor looking at my knee MRI’s said « there must be a mistake … » Miracles that even non-believers can witness. 
And the year after, as I was saying my goodbyes, Davidji went « Nothing to fix? boooring » we laughed. His eyes were the same. Pure unconditional love. All embracing. 

During the Wild Woodstock Ashram summer classes, every day there is one hour dedicated to Q&A. Students can ask the teachers any question, about anything : gardening, cooking, art, asana, music, meditation, astronomy, money, relationships, divorce, war, vegetarianism … anything. These moments are unique, precious and indescribable. I always leave Davidji overwhelmed with gratefulness and praying that we could have many more years in his presence. In sanskrit they say « Guru kripa » . The grace-filled ways of the Master.  He cuts right through you. Your intellect is challenged but your resistances melt. You surrender. You experience things that you can’t even imagine even existed. It is beyond intellect and it is not blind-faith. You fall in love again and again….

You awaken to the goodness of your own soul. And you begin to see « it » in others too… 

I am very fortunate to have found a spiritual practice and teachers I trust. Davidji is a living master and a healer. I am blessed beyond belief to have him in my life, to be part of the Jivamukti yoga lineage. 

« Our true power is the power of friendliness, the power of kindness, the power of One, the power of Love » – David Life

It is all Divine Grace,

Jeanine

Leave a Reply

